thecookiegal

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Time…..

on March 7, 2016

Tomorrow, March 8th, marks 6 years, since we heard those words “I am sorry but…” . In a few weeks it will be 5 years since we last held Alexander in our arms and said goodbye.   5 Years.  So much has happened in that time.  We have had 2 beautiful girls.  One of our girls, had open heart surgery at just 6 weeks old.  We moved – although just up the road.  I started working again.   I am working, but not as a nurse.  I work in a bakery at a supermarket.  I like to say “if I drop a loaf of bread, it is no big deal.  If I dropped a patient, it is a whole lot of paperwork!”

Life is pretty bearable most days.  My friend and fellow bereaved parent describes it well in this article:
http://parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/03/03/a-high-functioning-bereaved-parent/?_r=1

But there are still some days, that are very difficult to get through.  There are still days I wish I could just crawl under my covers and stay there forever.   I wish I didn’t have to deal with life – to work – to take care of my children – to have chores to do.   It can be hard to get up, and put a smile on my face and face life.

I still have a lot of anxiety that my two girls will get cancer and die also.   A few weeks ago, the older one was sick with a bug.  I was doing fine until she said “My head hurts – my neck hurts”.  My first thought was meningitis.   I called the doctors office and they calmed my fears of that, by having me tuck her chin to her chest.   But when complained on and off for several days afterwards, that her head hurt – I had it in my mind that she had a brain tumor.  And not just any brain tumor – a DIPG which is terminal.  I had our Make a Wish Trip to Disney planned out.    Then, I texted a few “cancer mom” friends and they helped me snap back into reality (although, I really would have felt better if I could have given her a quick MRI to calm all my fears)

The PTSD can be bad (click here for posts where I talk about that  https://thecookiegal.wordpress.com/?s=ptsd&submit=Go )
It can be a big thing – like a child being sick with similar symptoms that your child that died had.  or it can be something small.  I was in church a few weeks ago, and I saw a boy maybe 12 or 13 heading back in the pew and he put his hand on his moms shoulder.  I almost lost it right there!  Now, this boy didn’t look like Alexander, or even what I thought he MIGHT look like at this age.  But something about that one moment, almost brought me to tears (I did hold them back as I had my children with me)

When my kids were newborns, I thought that age was pretty boring!  (although some days I do miss just being able to snuggle them and rock them to sleep)  It is fun to watch the children grow up and do new things every day.  My older daughter is very bright and comes out with the smartest things!  It is fun to watch her play pretend and make things up in her head!   My younger daughter, is climbing into EVERYTHING right now.  Drives us nuts, but we love it too!

While I am loving this age they are in, I am not like most people who say “don’t grow up to fast!” or “how did they get to be that old?!?”   I am SO HAPPY they are GROWING UP and getting older.  In fact, some days I want them to HURRY UP and get older!  Not to make my life easier (no diapers, no sippy cups)  but just because they have the CHANCE to grow up!   Alexander didn’t have that chance.  He didn’t even make it to be 2.   Growing older is a GIFT not every one is given.

Hug your family and tell them you love them every day.

 

001

 

6 responses to “Time…..

  1. Lesley Whittier says:

    Hugs…

  2. New John says:

    Well said. I know those covers well. Peace to you and yours.

  3. sdebassio says:

    Wow, Nancy that is beautiful and sad. Hard to believe 5 years have gone by. The part about the 12 year old boy putting his hand on his mom’s shoulder just broke my heart for you. This probably doesn’t help now, but someday you will have a most amazing reunion with your son in heaven with lots of hugs and laughter. But I am sure you would give most anything to have him here now growing up in front of your eyes. I am still so sorry and grieved for your loss. All my love, Sue

  4. Elizabeth Beaulieu says:

    I think of you, Alexander, and your family frequently. I never know the right thing to say, but just keep writing if it helps. It must be hard to smile at times … like when you know smiling is the right thing to do in a social situation – so you do – not because it is real, but because it is expected. I pray that genuine smiles come more easily. Take care…

  5. sdebassio says:

    just read the article on the high functioning bereaved parent… boy he really described it in ways i have never heard. wow. thanks for sharing that insightful article. sue

  6. Meg Jusczyk says:

    Truth xoxo

Leave a Reply

Dollhouse Homestead

Seven Acres in Suburbia

From the Heart

my journey through love, life and loss

CorFitness

Strong Mind. Strong Body.

My Thoughts Now.....Life After The Accident

How I am coping with life after the accident that took my Zachary and my independence away.

New John for a New Year

Life is different now

Scribbles & Crumbs

Hope. Kindness. Faith. Love

A Generous Helping

Of Laughter & Tears

blessedstray

Sometimes I'm St. Ray; sometimes I'm a stray. I am always blessed.

God Wins...but can I ?

A Mother's Journey

Sharon Randall

This is my journey -- what's yours?

Forever 21

A broken heart is open to receive...

Speaking Up for Childhood Cancer

Increasing awareness to fight the number one disease killers of children worldwide

Thanks to my Lucky Star

a story about being guided by the brightest star

de Niall Heaven Bound

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Penny writes... Penny remembers

Life changes, usually when you're not ready

Grieving Dads: To the Brink and Back

A book designed to help men grieve.

Life of Kai

Pure Love + Loss = PURPOSE

Sweet Tooth Tootsie

Embrace your inner Sweet Tooth

