thecookiegal

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Camp Sunshine

on May 28, 2013

aWhipples (1)

 

We have returned again from another wonderful bereavement Weekend at Camp Sunshine.

Perhaps the words “wonderful” and “bereavement” seem odd words to put together, but as I said in my post last year, Camps Sunshine is a very special place for families that are living their new lives without their precious children.  This year there were only three families that were at their first session of a bereavement weekend.  There were a few that had gone in November for the first time, so I was just meeting them, and some that were there last year who I just hadn’t had a chance to get to know.

Some of the new families were there in hopes of hearing when it will get “better and easier”.  Sadly, they heard the truth – it doesn’t get better or easier, just DIFFERENT!  We are 2 years into our grief journey – and it is just that a journey.  Grief is not something you get OVER, but you get THROUGH.  There are some families that are many years into their journey.  Now, there living children are reaching new milestones – heading off to college, starting grades in school that their children that have died never got to go to.  It often brings up a whole new phase of grief!

I know that just when I think I am doing “better” something hits me in a way, and I come crashing down again.  The lows are much shorter times now, and it does take me less time to get back “up”.

Spending time with people that “get it” is wonderful. I can talk about Alexander, his treatment, his death, how life is without him, without worrying that I might be upsetting someone.  It is a very comfortable place to be.  It is interesting how different everyone’s story is.  One family had only 4 months with their child from the diagnosis to death. Another family, were told their child would be gone within a matter of months, and she outlived the “predictions” by 9 YEARS!  Some, of the children had battles that lasted for years, some were like Alexander and were very short (Alexander was only 13 months).  But no matter how long or short the battle was – and it is just that a battle, we all have a common thread in our lives.

So once again – I have some new friends that I wish I never knew, but I am so glad that I have met to help me through this phase of the STUPID CANCER journey!

 

 

4 responses to “Camp Sunshine

  1. The only place I can actually relax and be myself is among other bereaved parents. Everywhere else I am either on my guard, hoping to avoid certain conversations or I feel like an alien, remembering what it was like to be a normal parent, but no longer a member anymore.

  2. […] We were off once again to Camp Sunshine last weekend!  (see my previous posts for more details about camp) https://thecookiegal.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/camp-sunshine/ […]

  3. […] We had the opportunity to go to Camp Sunshine again for a bereavement weekend (read past posts here:  https://thecookiegal.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/camp-sunshine/) […]

Leave a Reply

Dollhouse Homestead

Seven Acres in Suburbia

From the Heart

my journey through love, life and loss

CorFitness

Strong Mind. Strong Body.

My Thoughts Now.....Life After The Accident

How I am coping with life after the accident that took my Zachary and my independence away.

New John for a New Year

Life is different now

Scribbles & Crumbs

Hope. Kindness. Faith. Love

A Generous Helping

Of Laughter & Tears

blessedstray

Sometimes I'm St. Ray; sometimes I'm a stray. I am always blessed.

God Wins...but can I ?

A Mother's Journey

Sharon Randall

This is my journey -- what's yours?

Forever 21

A broken heart is open to receive...

Speaking Up for Childhood Cancer

Increasing awareness to fight the number one disease killers of children worldwide

Thanks to my Lucky Star

a story about being guided by the brightest star

de Niall Heaven Bound

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Penny writes... Penny remembers

Life changes, usually when you're not ready

Grieving Dads: To the Brink and Back

A book designed to help men grieve.

Life of Kai

Pure Love + Loss = PURPOSE

Sweet Tooth Tootsie

Embrace your inner Sweet Tooth

