thecookiegal

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Miss you Dad!!!

on October 27, 2012

 

10 years  – My dad died 10 years ago – wow!  Sometimes it feels like a lifetime ago, sometimes, like it was yesterday.  There have been so many things I would have liked to talk to him about these last 10 years.  So many things I wish he had experienced with me.
He never met Richard.  He didn’t walk me down the isle, or have that special Father of the Bride Dance.

He wasn’t there when I graduated from nursing school.

He wasn’t there to meet his grandchildren.

He wasn’t there when Alexander was so sick in the hospital.  I know he would have been there every day that he could.  He would have helped to bring smiles and laughs to the other children and their families.  I am sure he would have put on Magic Shows for them.

I also know how heartbroken he would have been when Alexander died.  He always wanted Grandchildren – so much so that he even “adopted” a couple from a friend of his!   He would have been a great grandfather.  He would have loved and spoiled Julia!   I know he is taking good care of Alexander now.

 

Here is a Poem I wrote after he died:

My Daddy

My Daddy was one funny guy – he told the best – but yet the worst jokes in the world.  Do you know how to keep a Turkey curious for 24 hours??  I’ll tell you tomorrow!

My Daddy was a kind man – he seldom had anything bad to say about anyone, and if you had something bad to say about someone he would help you find a good thing to say.  He was always welcoming of new people – at work, friends at home, where ever he went.

My Daddy was magical!  He would make my stuffed animals come ALIVE and they would sing and dance to me before I went to bed.  He told me scary stories about the Monster of Mashpee Marsh but he told me funny tales too about Blue Eyed Princesses.  He was the best magician I ever knew – he taught me magic secrets that no one else knew.

My Daddy was adventuress!  He walked on hot coals, drove a race car, took helicopter rides into glaciers, and always went on crazy roller coasters with me, even when it scared him!

My Daddy was an honest man.  He taught me the best was to be successful in life was to be honest first with yourself, and then with whomever you were dealing with.

My Daddy was all these things – but he was also a loving husband, a great father, a brother, an uncle, a son, and a friend.  All of these things made him my Daddy.  He was the best Daddy in the whole wide world!

3 responses to “Miss you Dad!!!

  1. FIL says:

    Hi, Nancy,

    That was a very beautiful tribute to your father. I knew him well and agree with everything you said! Gene was a wonderful person and a great father.

    Love, Uncle Mike

  2. Sue DeBassio says:

    Nancy
    he really was quite a guy and I am sure he was an awesome daddy to you and lisa…hard to believe it was 10 years ago… i am sure he and Alexander are hanging out all the time together in heaven
    love, sue

  3. Karen Capucilli says:

    I am so sorry your father has passed away. This is a beautiful tribute that he would be very proud of.

Leave a Reply

Dollhouse Homestead

Seven Acres in Suburbia

From the Heart

my journey through love, life and loss

CorFitness

Strong Mind. Strong Body.

My Thoughts Now.....Life After The Accident

How I am coping with life after the accident that took my Zachary and my independence away.

New John for a New Year

Life is different now

Scribbles & Crumbs

Hope. Kindness. Faith. Love

chemoanddonuts

"No Sprinkles Please"

A Generous Helping

Of Laughter & Tears

blessedstray

Sometimes I'm St. Ray; sometimes I'm a stray. I am always blessed.

God Wins...but can I ?

A Mother's Journey

Sharon Randall

This is my journey -- what's yours?

Forever 21

A broken heart is open to receive...

Speaking Up for Childhood Cancer

Increasing awareness to fight the number one disease killers of children worldwide

Thanks to my Lucky Star

a story about being guided by the brightest star

de Niall Heaven Bound

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Penny writes... Penny remembers

Life changes, usually when you're not ready

Grieving Dads

To the Brink and Back

Life of Kai

Pure Love + Loss = PURPOSE

