thecookiegal

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Making Some NOISE!!!

on October 22, 2012

In recent weeks I have been on the hunt for a job!  It is not going well at all!  I have tried for a few nursing jobs, but have not heard back from most of them.  I have looked into retail work, but they all want weekends, and because of Richards schedule, I can’t work on the weekend.  So, what is a girl to do!?

Well, I am going to MAKE SOME NOISE!!   Last December, we went into Boston, to see Alexander’s Picture on the National Angel Quilt It was a beautiful, yet sad site to see.  WAY to many lives lost to STUPID CANCER!

              

While we were there, we got to talking to the founder of the Make Some Noise Pediatric Cancer Research Foundation and his mother who is the Chairman of the foundation.   They were interested in starting a Boston Chapter.   Time marched on – we had Alexander’s anniversary – Julia was born!  Then, a two hour phone conversation last week led to the start of the process!!!

YIKES!  What I have I gotten myself into!?? Well, something AWESOME!  Make Some Noise was started by Malcom Sutherland-Foggio while he was fighting his own cancer at the age of 10 he saw the lack of funding given to pediatric cancer research and wanted to make a change!

As I have never done anything like this, I am going to need a LOT of help!  It can be BIG or SMALL – anything is wonderful!

One of the things I will need the most help with is Noise Night!  Noise Night is a fundraiser where we will – well, MAKE SOME NOISE!!!  I have a lot of ideas running around in my head for it!  If anyone has experience planning a fundraiser, please let me know!  If you would be able to help with Raffle or Auction Items, let me know!   The Foundation has set January 12th for Noise Night – it is an event that will happen in multiple locations.

You can reach me at:

nancy@makenoise4kids.org

Please watch this video to get an idea of why the need is so great – warning though – you might need tissues!

6 responses to “Making Some NOISE!!!

  1. Mary C in NY says:

    I would be happy to help you with a raffle – and donate a quilt – we’ll talk

    Mary

  2. Erika says:

    I will help. My school has already earned almost $1000.00 in memory of Alexander already. I will help. Just let me know how.

  3. Marie says:

    Oh, my goodness. What happened since I saw you Wednesday? This all sounds great. Is it a paying position, I hope, for your sake? (I shouldn’t ask, but since you’ll be in my business now, I thought that I could ask.) I want to hear more. But, I think that ConKerr would like to donate cases, a basket, something. Keep me posted, so I get a better idea what’s involved, and think how we can help, with others, which is your part, to get you and the cause launched.

    Sleep well. (I can now identify that whirling noise that I’ve been hearing from the east. It’s your brain.)

    Marie Nader ConKerr Cancer Massachusetts Coordinator; Board Member 978-448-2636 http://www.conkerrcancer.org

  4. Sue DeBassio says:

    Nancy I just watched the make some noise video by Malcolm at the bottom- what a kid (he talks like a 40 year old; God bless him) stupid cancer is just so unfair and yes i did need tissues to watch him… thanks for sharing this important video and foundation sue

  5. Malcolm is amazing – I’ve also contacted the organization and we’re planning to show them around Columbia University Medical Center. Feel free to contact me at js2807@columbia.edu if you need any fundraising advice.

Leave a Reply

Dollhouse Homestead

Seven Acres in Suburbia

From the Heart

my journey through love, life and loss

CorFitness

Strong Mind. Strong Body.

My Thoughts Now.....Life After The Accident

How I am coping with life after the accident that took my Zachary and my independence away.

New John for a New Year

Life is different now

Scribbles & Crumbs

Hope. Kindness. Faith. Love

chemoanddonuts

"No Sprinkles Please"

A Generous Helping

Of Laughter & Tears

blessedstray

Sometimes I'm St. Ray; sometimes I'm a stray. I am always blessed.

God Wins...but can I ?

A Mother's Journey

Sharon Randall

This is my journey -- what's yours?

Forever 21

A broken heart is open to receive...

Speaking Up for Childhood Cancer

Increasing awareness to fight the number one disease killers of children worldwide

Thanks to my Lucky Star

a story about being guided by the brightest star

de Niall Heaven Bound

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Penny writes... Penny remembers

Life changes, usually when you're not ready

Grieving Dads

To the Brink and Back

Life of Kai

Pure Love + Loss = PURPOSE

