thecookiegal

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Follow up thoughts on previous posts

on August 6, 2011

I had a few thoughts on a couple of posts I had put up.

The first is on the Technology Post.  I was watching an episode of Little House on the  Prairie, and thought about how lives was back then – without technology.  People would go years maybe without getting to see a loved one.  Mail was there, but I am sure it could take weeks for a letter to reach you.  memories were made, but there were no photos to capture those events.   Even just 10 or so years ago before digital photography was so popular, we didn’t take as many photos.  I remember reading the book “Alex the Life of a Child” a story about a little girl that died from Cystic Fybrosis when she was only 8.  her dad said “we never had the flashbulbs for the camera when we wanted them”   Alexander had THOUSANDS of photos taken of him – well over 4,000 in fact!  Amazing for such a short little life.   We were able to share photos of him with those that couldn’t visit.
If it wasn’t for our carepages I don’t know where I would have been!  Writing those updates each day, helped me to deal with everything that was going on.  It also kept me from having to repeat myself over and over again! Reading everyone’s uplifting messages kept me going.

 

Okay – my other thought was on Generosity.  I wanted to thank everyone again for being so generous in so many ways to us.  I also wanted to let you know that thanks to people’s generosity, over $5,600 was raised in Alexander’s name for the Cycle for Life.  The Cycle for Life is the main fundraiser for the Child Life department at Floating Hospital for Children.  They are the ones that help the kids deal with all the crap they are going through.   They are also the ones that first introduced Alexander to BUBBLES! (I would have eventually of course, but they we the first!)

in June my friends put together team Alexander the Great for another fundraiser for the hospital.  We raised $3,600 for the Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Clinic!    Again THANK YOU!

2 responses to “Follow up thoughts on previous posts

  1. Erin M. says:

    When I was a baby/toddler, the technology for a VCR and then a video camera was brand-new and very expensive (thousands of dollars). However, a family friend was able to purchase such equipment, and would take videos when our families would get together because my parents knew that “someday” they would be able to save up for a VCR and desperately wanted these moments saved. Thanks to “Uncle” Jim Andersen (still very close friends), we have precious videos of my siblings and I as toddlers– at swim lessons, dance recitals, and birthday picnics. Priceless gifts.

  2. jane says:

    Oh my goodness Nancy, I READ THAT BOOK, ALex the life of a child….I still remember the details of it and think about that little girl often, I think I read it when I was like 13 or 14….it was so powerful…..

Leave a Reply

Dollhouse Homestead

Seven Acres in Suburbia

From the Heart

my journey through love, life and loss

CorFitness

Strong Mind. Strong Body.

My Thoughts Now.....Life After The Accident

How I am coping with life after the accident that took my Zachary and my independence away.

New John for a New Year

Life is different now

Scribbles & Crumbs

Hope. Kindness. Faith. Love

A Generous Helping

Of Laughter & Tears

blessedstray

Sometimes I'm St. Ray; sometimes I'm a stray. I am always blessed.

God Wins...but can I ?

A Mother's Journey

Sharon Randall

This is my journey -- what's yours?

Forever 21

A broken heart is open to receive...

Speaking Up for Childhood Cancer

Increasing awareness to fight the number one disease killers of children worldwide

Thanks to my Lucky Star

a story about being guided by the brightest star

de Niall Heaven Bound

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Penny writes... Penny remembers

Life changes, usually when you're not ready

Grieving Dads: To the Brink and Back

A book designed to help men grieve.

Life of Kai

Pure Love + Loss = PURPOSE

Sweet Tooth Tootsie

Embrace your inner Sweet Tooth

