thecookiegal

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Be Generous

on August 1, 2011

As Dr. Mark Green was Dying on an Episode of ER, he imparted these words to his Daughter “be Generous”

Very good and thoughtful words. This past year, we saw the generosity of MANY people shine through – family, friends, and even strangers. Without them we would have been lost. Even the little things meant so much to us.

I did a google search, and I found this definition which I liked best:

Definition of generous (adjective)
benevolent; giving; unselfish; abundant; plentiful

 

I have always tried to be generous with the money I have been given through work, even when it is not a lot. When I was a full time volunteer making $50 a week, I still gave my 10% away. I never was short on money (thankfully gas was only about $1.50 a gallon back then!), and I always had enough to eat. Many Churches teach about giving 10% to the church – Personally, I like to “spread the love” and give my money to as many charities as I can. I think you have to do what is right for you in your heart.

here are a few of the Charites that I believe in:

http://www.jennifercreed.org/   (paid for ALL of our parking in the hospital!)

http://www.camneelyfoundation.org/

http://www.neads.org/  (provides service dogs)

http://www.birthdaywishes.org/   (brings Birthday Parties to homeless children – great gift alternative!)

 

Of course, not everyone is able to do that. Even just $5 can mean a lot when you are raising a family, or struggling with an illness. But do you have time? I know everyone is “busy” in life, but can you take just a few hours of your time to give blood? http://www.redcrossblood.org/
Alexander had so many blood and platlete transfusions. I will never know how many donors gave up their precious time for HIM. I am forever grateful to the strangers that gave their time to save a life.

Perhaps you could give up a relaxing Saturday afternoon to take time to build a house? http://www.habitat.org/ It is amazing feeling, putting a nail into a home for someone else!

Can you sew?  Maybe you can make pillowcases for kids with cancer!   http://www.conkerrcancer.org

 

Whatever you do, do it well, and with a giving heart!

What I do you cannot do; but what you do, I cannot do. The needs are great, and none of us, including me, ever do great things. But we can all do small things, with great love, and together we can do something wonderful.

Mother Teresa of Calcutta

5 responses to “Be Generous

  1. Cathie says:

    I always try to give to charities…I do have my favorites, but am checking out some of these.
    Since I have known you, You have always been very generous in sharing…As you know I remember my 1st B’day at work and what you did…and we didn’t really even know each other… 🙂
    And by sharing Alexander with us – that was so generous also!!

  2. jane says:

    Yes yes yes Nancy….I love giving, sharing, ……..although it is hard to receive at times it has been a great blessing to be on the receiving end. There is nothing like the feeling that you have given, changed someone even for a moment, it’s almost like giving to someone else and to yourself (strange huh?)

    • thecookiegal says:

      I totally agree Jane! Despite the crappy year we had, I still enjoyed being able to HELP others when I could. People would tell me to stop, and think of myself, but by helping them, it helped ME! (plus it gave me a chance to bake for a reason!) It is HARD for me to be on the receiving end however!

  3. […] wrote a blog previously on being Generous.  I have some other groups I would like to add to the list I had put in that […]

Leave a Reply

Dollhouse Homestead

Seven Acres in Suburbia

From the Heart

my journey through love, life and loss

CorFitness

Strong Mind. Strong Body.

My Thoughts Now.....Life After The Accident

How I am coping with life after the accident that took my Zachary and my independence away.

New John for a New Year

Life is different now

Scribbles & Crumbs

Hope. Kindness. Faith. Love

A Generous Helping

Of Laughter & Tears

blessedstray

Sometimes I'm St. Ray; sometimes I'm a stray. I am always blessed.

God Wins...but can I ?

A Mother's Journey

Sharon Randall

This is my journey -- what's yours?

Forever 21

A broken heart is open to receive...

Speaking Up for Childhood Cancer

Increasing awareness to fight the number one disease killers of children worldwide

Thanks to my Lucky Star

a story about being guided by the brightest star

de Niall Heaven Bound

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Penny writes... Penny remembers

Life changes, usually when you're not ready

Grieving Dads: To the Brink and Back

A book designed to help men grieve.

Life of Kai

Pure Love + Loss = PURPOSE

Sweet Tooth Tootsie

Embrace your inner Sweet Tooth

