thecookiegal

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Crazy Coupon People

on May 16, 2011

As many of you know I love to look for a bargain.  I shop the clearance racks at stores, and use coupons on top of sales whenever I can.  Some of my best deals on clothes was at the now defunct Filenes.  I once got a $40 dress for $1.79 – Actually I got two of them and gave one to my friend since it was such a good deal!  Another time I got a $100+ dress for about $20.   On certain items or at certain stores, I find it hard to pay full price when I know I can find a coupon or wait for a sale.  My husband and I eat out a lot – more often that not it it is with a coupon, or going to an “Early Bird” special.  

There is a new show on TLC called “Extreme Couponing”.  I have my thoughts on it, but then this lady on her blog pretty much said it all!

http://faithfulprovisions.com/2011/05/13/the-extreme-nature-of-tlcs-extreme-couponing-show/

Here are a few of my “problems” with these people:

1.  If you are spending 40+ hours a WEEK on “couponing” is it really worth it? Even with all that you save, what does the savings work out to per hour?

2.  Some people say they are BUYING coupons – that doesn’t seem like you are then SAVING money.

3.  Dumpster diving?  I don’t think so!   Asking your neighbors for their coupons is one thing, but digging through trash is another!

4.  On one episode, a woman had a closest full of her daughters favorite SODA.  No kid needs that much soda – EVER!

5.  If it is taking over your house, then you have to much of a stockpile!!

6.  I understand some people really do go through a jar of peanut butter in a week – that is great, then as mentioned on the other blog, buy enough to make it through the next sale – but when you have enough of an item “to last 15 years, then I think it is a bit to much.

7.  One lady had a stockpile of diapers – but she didn’t even have any KIDS!  That just seems like a waste of space and time!  Just because something is “free” doesn’t mean you have to take it!

8.  Clearing a shelf of an item is just downright RUDE! 

I made a little “pantry” section for us in the basement and did stock up on some items because of sales and coupons – well, because of our life this past year, I never got to use some of them, and now they are expired!  Sorry world to be so wasteful – but I will put it on my compost pile at least and give back to the earth!

3 responses to “Crazy Coupon People

  1. jane says:

    sometimes I buy something just because I have a coupon, when I don’t really need the item, but I think I should get it because it’s a good deal……..also wasteful

  2. thecookiegal says:

    Yes – I have done that too sometimes!

  3. Kim says:

    Saving money good… spending precious time on this addiction… not good.
    Some people just have to find their balance between fun and obsession.
    I used to be obsessed, but not I spend about an hour a week and save up to 60% on my grocery bill every week.

Leave a Reply

Dollhouse Homestead

Seven Acres in Suburbia

From the Heart

my journey through love, life and loss

CorFitness

Strong Mind. Strong Body.

My Thoughts Now.....Life After The Accident

How I am coping with life after the accident that took my Zachary and my independence away.

New John for a New Year

Life is different now

Scribbles & Crumbs

Hope. Kindness. Faith. Love

chemoanddonuts

"No Sprinkles Please"

A Generous Helping

Of Laughter & Tears

blessedstray

Sometimes I'm St. Ray; sometimes I'm a stray. I am always blessed.

God Wins...but can I ?

A Mother's Journey

Sharon Randall

This is my journey -- what's yours?

Forever 21

A broken heart is open to receive...

Speaking Up for Childhood Cancer

Increasing awareness to fight the number one disease killers of children worldwide

Thanks to my Lucky Star

a story about being guided by the brightest star

de Niall Heaven Bound

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Penny writes... Penny remembers

Life changes, usually when you're not ready

Grieving Dads

To the Brink and Back

Life of Kai

Pure Love + Loss = PURPOSE

