thecookiegal

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

2 Years Old

on June 21, 2014

When we wake up tomorrow, we will have a two-year old.   Wow 2.  As I mentioned in a previous post, Julia became older than Alexander on March 26.(  http://thecookiegal.wordpress.com/2014/03/09/time-and-milestones/)  and now she will be 2.

I didn’t plan a party at all for her this year. She had a lovely little party last year.  But this year, I don’t know why – I just didn’t plan one.  We had things planned on different days during this weekend as well as last weekend.  And there just didn’t seem like a good “time” to have one.  I wanted to get her a Curious George themed party, because she really likes to watch that show.  I had to go online to buy things, as none of the party stores near me carried them (which I find very odd)  I checked with a couple of bakeries in the supermarkets and they didn’t have a Curious George cake, although they did say I could bring a picture in and they would put it on for me, but that just wasn’t what I wanted.    I ended up making my own cake, which came out pretty good I think!

We go to a Down syndrome Play group (http://www.morningtravelers.org/) and I knew there would be a lot of kids there, so I decided to bring the cake to that.  Since Julia is so little, I knew she wouldn’t realize it isn’t a party JUST for her (although I imagine when she is a crazy teenager she will bring it up more than once!) so I figured that would be okay.

But, then I did start to think about just WHY I didn’t have a party for her.  Was it really because we were too busy to have one? Or was it because Alexander never had a second birthday party.   Or because he would have been 5 in a week?  I don’t know….maybe……

Now, what do I do with a 2-year-old?!!?  She is already perfecting the temper tantrum!  And we are finding it hard to get her to eat anything beyond plain pasta.  (I don’t want to get her into the Kraft Mac and Cheese habit that so many kids have!!)  She does eat fruit, so at least that is healthy right???

We do enjoy watching her grow and learn, and to be silly.   But for me at least, it is still so hard to see her as the oldest child we have, when really she is a middle child.

I am sure I have more thoughts on this….but that is all that is coming out right now…..

 

3 responses to “2 Years Old

  1. Betty says:

    Nancy you have to do whatever is right for you. I’m sure the Curious George cake will be a hit, and will be remembered -! Takes a special Mom to attempt a Curious cake on her own!

  2. jane says:

    I enjoy reading your thoughts Nancy….. Thanks for putting them out there for all of us to share in. Will bwpe thinking of you guys on the 25th & 29th

  3. sdebassio says:

    Hi Nancy, some profound thoughts. I never thought of the fact that

    even tho julia is the oldest, she is the middle child. Truly. I can’t

    believe Alexander would have been 5. Wow. You and Richard and the

    girls continue to be in our thoughts and prayers. We love you.

    Sue

    Date: Sun, 22 Jun 2014 02:24:54 +0000 To: sdebassio@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

Forever 21

A broken heart is open to receive...

Speaking Up for Childhood Cancer

Increasing awareness to fight the number one disease killers of children worldwide

chemoanddonuts

"No Sprinkles Please"

Thanks to my Lucky Star

a story about being guided by the brightest star

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Penny writes... Penny remembers

Life changes, usually when you're not ready

Grieving Dads: To the Brink and Back

A book designed to help men grieve.

keiki kai

the adventures after | from brain cancer and beyond

Sweet Tooth Tootsie

Embrace your inner Sweet Tooth

Waking Up With A Broken Heart

An Eternal Struggle to Survive..............

Sweet Tooth Tootsie

Tootsie was my tooth fairy's name. She's probably rolling over in her little fairy grave thinking about all the cavities I could get from everything in this blog. It is in her honor that I write about a true passion of mine...everything and anything sweet.

RADventures

What's this about? I'll let you know as soon as I figure it out.

ROCKSTAR RONAN

All Good Things Are Wild and Free

Off the Diving Board

A grieving Dad's leap of faith into a life without his son

cloakeynotes

welcome to my world

CAMERA CLICKS FOR CANCER

PHOTOGRAPHY WITH A PURPOSE

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

