thecookiegal

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Happy New Year

on December 31, 2013

Another year is upon us.   At this time, many people reflect on the year that has gone by, and make plans and promises for the year ahead.

A friend recently asked, “why does it take December for us as mankind to be collectively joyful and to act the way we are supposed to to our fellow man?”  I replied that I felt the same way with people putting out daily things they are Thankful for during the month of November.  Are they not thankful other times of year? 

I know that times can be tough for many people. Just reflecting on what my family has been through in the last 3 years is more than some people get in a lifetime.   However, despite all those things, I have tried to find things to be thankful about. When Alexander was in treatment, I was thankful we didn’t have other children to worry about at home.  We could give all of our time and attention to him.  I was thankful that Richard had a job that allowed him to work only weekends so I could have breaks from the hospital during the week.  I was thankful that we did not have to worry about losing our home.  And looking back now, I can even find things to be thankful about on the day he died.  It was a horrible day yes.  But Richard and I were able to be with him and hold him as he went to be with the Angels.  My mom and Richard’s mom were also able to be with him in his last moments.  Many families do not have the chance to be with their child when he/she dies.  They can’t be there to say goodbye.  We were able to do that.

One thing I am going to TRY to do in the new year is to move on.  There were some people that just weren’t there for us the way I would have wanted them to be and I am still very angry about that.  I am going to work on moving on from that anger, forgive, accept that, that is how they are and they will not change.  I have to focus more on those that WERE there for us, and be thankful for that.

So my challenge for all of you in this new year, is to try to find something to be THANKFUL for every day!  Years ago, Oprah had encouraged people to write out a “Grateful Journal”.  You can find nice Journals or even just a note-book many places – even the Dollar Tree!  Some days you will be able to fill up a whole page with things you are Thankful for.  Other days, it may be a struggle to find just one. But even if it is just “I was able to get out of bed and face the day” then write that.  Maybe you could have your family say one thing they are Thankful for each night at dinner.

Wishing you and your family a very happy 2014.

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Happy New Year

  1. Karen Capucilli says:

    This is hitting the nail on the head. Thank you.

  2. Jane says:

    Amen Nancy……

  3. Therese says:

    Thankful you are my cousin.

Leave a Reply

Thanks to my Lucky Star

a story about being guided by the brightest star

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

thecookiegal

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Penny writes... Penny remembers

Life changes, usually when you're not ready

Grieving Dads: To the Brink and Back

A book designed to help men grieve.

keiki kai

the adventures after | from brain cancer and beyond

Sweet Tooth Tootsie

Embrace your inner Sweet Tooth

Waking Up With A Broken Heart

An Eternal Struggle to Survive..............

Sweet Tooth Tootsie

Tootsie was my tooth fairy's name. She's probably rolling over in her little fairy grave thinking about all the cavities I could get from everything in this blog. It is in her honor that I write about a true passion of mine...everything and anything sweet.

RADventures

What's this about? I'll let you know as soon as I figure it out.

ROCKSTAR RONAN

All Good Things Are Wild and Free

Off the Diving Board

A grieving Dad's leap of faith into a life without his son

cloakeynotes

welcome to my world

CAMERA CLICKS FOR CANCER

PHOTOGRAPHY WITH A PURPOSE

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

