thecookiegal

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Missing Alexander

on August 14, 2013

I have been down the last couple of days – missing Alexander. It isn’t that I don’t ALWAYS miss him, but some days and weeks are harder than others.

This weekend we went to a wedding in NH.  It was very nice, but in the car there and back, I kept looking back at Julia and just wishing Alexander was there.  We didn’t go to Story Land or Santa’s Village, because I think Julia is just a little too young for it, but how I wish we could have been there with Alexander AND Julia!  I know he would have loved it, and with him there I would have been okay having Julia there too.

We were out to dinner, and they had a kids menu with crayons.  I showed them to Julia and she seemed pretty fascinated by the crayons, but of course once I gave them to her she ate them!  Alexander never got to use crayons – he was too little. Maybe he could have near the end – but we never did even try them.  I don’t know why.

Julia loves the swings at the park.  Alexander never went on the Swing. He was sick at 8 months old, and it was still winter.  Then, he was in the hospital for most of the summer – then he was on TPN 24 hours a day, so he couldn’t really swing with that, then Winter again, then he was gone.  I am sad for him that he didn’t get to have that fun activity in his life.  He missed out on so much.

STUPID cancer robs so many children of the simplest things in life – it SUCKS!!!!

 

4 responses to “Missing Alexander

  1. Jackie goodell says:

    No words, but just want you to know I am always reading and thinking of your Alexander.
    Jackie Goodell

  2. New John says:

    Amen.

  3. jane mulcahy says:

    just wishing he was there with you Nancy…..I am heartbroken inside over this…wish he was there with his little sister and mommy and daddy

  4. Laura Peterson says:

    It does suck. There are no other words.

Leave a Reply

Forever 21

A broken heart is open to receive...

Speaking Up for Childhood Cancer

Increasing awareness to fight the number one disease killers of children worldwide

chemoanddonuts

"No Sprinkles Please"

Thanks to my Lucky Star

a story about being guided by the brightest star

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

thecookiegal

Welcome to the CookieGal's world!

Penny writes... Penny remembers

Life changes, usually when you're not ready

Grieving Dads: To the Brink and Back

A book designed to help men grieve.

keiki kai

the adventures after | from brain cancer and beyond

Sweet Tooth Tootsie

Embrace your inner Sweet Tooth

Waking Up With A Broken Heart

An Eternal Struggle to Survive..............

Sweet Tooth Tootsie

Tootsie was my tooth fairy's name. She's probably rolling over in her little fairy grave thinking about all the cavities I could get from everything in this blog. It is in her honor that I write about a true passion of mine...everything and anything sweet.

RADventures

What's this about? I'll let you know as soon as I figure it out.

ROCKSTAR RONAN

All Good Things Are Wild and Free

Off the Diving Board

A grieving Dad's leap of faith into a life without his son

cloakeynotes

welcome to my world

CAMERA CLICKS FOR CANCER

PHOTOGRAPHY WITH A PURPOSE

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

